The practice of Yoga dates back to at least 4000 B.C. The word 'Yoga' means 'union', and derives from the Sanskrit YUK meaning 'unite' or 'bind." Its practice is intended to create the union of the body with consciousness, and of consciousness with the soul.

There are a number of different schools of Yoga. Jamie's yoga deals primarily with the different forms of Hatha yoga with some attention to ashtanga, sivinanda, kundalini and raja yoga practices.


What people normally associate with Yoga are the postures (ASANAS), of which there are reputed to be over 8.4 million.  At Yoga at Yours we tend to stick to a couple of hundred, so should you want to look some up search for these:

Tree, Pigeon, Downward Dog, Cat, Cobra, Camel, Sun Salutation, Half Moon, Tortoise, Rabbit, Locust, Bow, Dancer, Forward bend, Seated forward bend, Yoga Mudra, Toe Stand, Warrior, Triangle and Awkward pose

In your personalised Yoga class you can dictate the pace if you wish: fast, flowing postures for those who want to get the heart rate up and build up a sweat moving spontaneously and long, static postures for those who wish to build stamina, core strength and find inner stillness. You simply inform Jamie of what your aims are, and the session will be tailored to your needs.

Breathwork & Meditation:

Most Yoga classes will incorporate breathwork and meditation alongside the postures. The advantage of having personal Yoga classes is that you can dictate how much or how little of these elements you want.

Yoga Nidra (Yoga sleep) is a wonderfully beneficial deep relaxation and form of meditation that comes at the end of the sessions. It consists of laying on the floor in corpse pose (ensuring the practitioner is warm enough) and relaxing the body parts in a sequence followed by a guided visualisation for the mind.

You can combine breathing with no meditation or 20 mins of meditation with no regular breathing exercises or 10 mins of breathing per session. It's all up to you.

The Philosophy of Yoga

Although in the western world Yoga is recognised principally as a form of exercise with numerous physical health benefits, its rewards extend far beyond the body. Yoga is a way of life rooted in ancient philosophy, Its practice incorporates eight limbs, of which the postures, breathwork and meditation are just three. The full eight limbs defined by Patanjali, the forefather of Yoga, are:

1) YAMA (moral observation/ preparatory bases)
2) NIYAMA (ethical constraints/ discipline)
3) ASANA (positions/ postures)
4) PRANAYAMA (breathing exercises)
5) PRATYAHARA (restraining external temptations)
6) DHARANA (concentration)
7) DHYANA (Meditation)
8) SAMADHI (State of Bliss)

If you wish to explore this side of Yoga, Jamie will be more than happy to guide you through through the core principles and concepts. However, if you just want exercise and relaxation, then that's exactly what you'll get!

"Yoga cultivates the ways of maintaining a balanced attitude in day-to-day life and endows skill in the performance of one's actions."

B.K.S. Iyengar